UFAKING 369

UFAKING 369 "The flag officer has not told me yet what he is about, and I am not good at guessing, though I am a Yankee," replied the man chuckling, as though he believed he had said something funny. UFAKING 369 "I will go with you, Uncle Job," added Mr. Pennant quietly. CHAPTER XIX THE SKIPPER OF THE SLOOP MAGNOLIA "By taking the bull by the horns in good season, I am confident we can prevent this mischief." "How old a man does he appear to be?" CHAPTER I A MYSTERIOUS VISITATION "Yes, sir; and since I came on deck, I heard that Phil Camden had been appointed acting second lieutenant," replied Pennant. 230 "All ready, sir; and the signal was a sky-rocket, which the pilot could see over the fog." "Where did you say your father lived, Mr. Passford?" asked the executive officer. As he spoke Captain Flanger toyed with the revolver in his right hand as if he intended that the weapon should produce its proper impression on the mind, and especially upon the nerves, of 275 the commander, who had continued to walk up and down in front of the table at which his dangerous associate was seated, occasionally pausing when a point was made on either side. WINNER369 "What steamer is that?" called Mr. Blowitt. "I can assure you first that he is alive and well. I am not informed how he got to New York, but 239 he did get there, and in company with two naval officers, one by the name of Byron, as well as Galvinne." "One of our men is very sick, and we have no doctor. We are afraid he will die before morning, 328 and we want a doctor. Ours was ordered off a week ago." "I was in New York, preparing to come on board of the Vernon." "Then I will wait till I have time to attend to it," replied the heroic officer who treated the injury with contempt; "I have not finished my report to the captain yet. I will be in the ward room as soon as the captain is done with me." "If you wish to get back into the Bellevite, of course you can do so, for it is not every fellow 296 that wears